About C4 Vocal Ensemble

Christian IV’s Vocal ensemble is named after Denmarks most notorious king. A true renaissance prince, who surrounded himself with splendour and wealth in the form of impressive buildings, paintings and not least; the finest music the society of the day could offer.

Christian IV’s Vocal Ensemble was formed by conductor and cembalist Ruben Munk in 2005, and with Christian IV’s Baroque Ensemble they have performed many of the great church music works by Bach and Händel. In 2013, the ensemble took its current form and has since consisted of  of eight professional singers from Denmark, Norway and Sweden, who aim to deliver world class performances. The ensemble perform a wide-range of a cappella repertoire, specializing in innovative dramatized performances of Renaissance music. The ensemble is also committed to the performance of new music.

Since the ensemble became professional in 2013 , they have performed concerts throughout Denmark, a concert tour to the Baltic, and guested several music festivals such as the Bornholm Music Festival, Næstved Early Music Festival and the Shakespeare Festival at Kronborg Slot.

Musical director

Ruben Munk (1980) completed his organ studies at The Royal Danish Conservatory of Music with a diploma in 2005. After studying in Paris, where he was  organist in the Danish Church, he continued with cembalo studies at the Conservatory’s early music department, with Lars Ulrik Mortensen and Christine Schornsheim (D). He debuted from the Royal Conservatory of Music in 2011.

He has an extensive career as an organ soloist, and in particular as a cembalist and ensemble leader, next to his work as organist at Gentofte Church. As musical director he has, with his ensemble Christian IV Baroque Ensemble & Choir, been in charge of numerous performances of major church music works. He is also one of the three main organizers behind the annual festival Gentofte Baroque Days. Recipient of Robert Roussels Grant and Léonie Sonning Grant in 2011.

The singers


  • Hilde Gjermundsen
  • Ranveig Helen Lægreid


  • Nana Bugge Rasmussen
  • Mari Askvik


  • Jonathan Kroner Ingvald
  • Erlend Tyrmi


  • Johan Bogren
  • Mikkel Tuxen​